Oops!

For a better experience, please use one of these browsers:

Chrome
Download
Firefox
Download
Safari
See website anyway.
× Promo décembre, effectuez un achat en ligne et recevez un volta gratuit. December deal, make an online purchase and receive a free volta. Promo décembre, effectuez un achat en ligne et recevez un volta gratuit. December deal, make an online purchase and receive a free volta. Promo décembre, effectuez un achat en ligne et recevez un volta gratuit. December deal, make an online purchase and receive a free volta.

Vegan or not vegan? 5 puzzling foods demystified

By Ariane Bilodeau, Copywriter/editor, and health & food blogger

When you go grocery shopping, there are foods that do not leave any doubt in your mind. We know that ice cream contains dairy, that many pastries contain butter or eggs. There are also foods that you strongly believe are not vegan. Yet there are so many foods that seem vegan, but yet are not so- and so many products that seem to contain animal products, but are actually vegan.

Here are some examples:

Bacon Bits

Vegan! Unless it is stated that the bacon bits are "made of real bacon", there is a good chance that they are actually made of soy. The crunchy and smoky plant-based bacon bits can be a great addition to Caesar salads and creamy pasta. Personally, I love to throw a handful on corn chowder.

Marshmallows

Not vegan. Marshmallow contains gelatin. Although there are vegetable sources of gelatin, most marshmallows contain animal gelatin (which comes from the skin, cartilage, muscles and bones of animals, especially pork). Several brands produce vegan marshmallows; visit your local health food store or order online.

Worcestershire Sauce

Not vegan. This sauce contains molasses, vinegar... and anchovies. Visit your local health food store to buy an option that does not contain fish ingredients!

Sorbet

Not vegan. Many sorbets contain egg whites for a lighter, creamier texture. Read the ingredients without ever assuming that the product in front of you is made of fruit and sugar only.

Oreo Cookies

Vegan! Incredible but true! Oreo cookies do not contain milk, eggs, butter, etc. Note, however, that they may have been in contact with such products during the manufacturing process, which poses a risk of cross-contamination.

Article précédent
Article suivant

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Recherche

Shopping Cart

Votre panier est vide.
Boutique